At Cavendish Community Primary School the health, safety and well-being of every child is our top priority. We expect all staff, governors and volunteers to share this commitment to safeguarding our pupils.

Our aims for all children are all about...

safe & happy.jpg

We listen to our pupils and take seriously what they tell us. All school staff are trained in Child Protection, and children are made aware of the adults they can talk to if they have any concerns. Staff are trained to look out for signs of physical/emotional harm or neglect and are required to report these to the Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL).

The procedures which we follow have been laid down by the Manchester Safeguarding Children Board and the school has adopted a Safeguarding Policy in line with this, for the safety of all. On rare occasions, our concerns about a child may mean that we have to consult other agencies. In this case, we will endeavour to discuss with parent/carers first, before any referrals are made, unless we believe that such a move may be contrary to a child’s welfare.

The school has a safeguarding team which is comprised of:

  • Jo Taylor (Headteacher and Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead)
  • Sian Evans (Deputy Headteacher and Designated Safeguarding Lead)
  • Assistant Heads - Sarah Conway, Sarah Hopkins, Kevin Foster and Gill Day
  • Diane Berisford (Admissions & Attendance)
  • Mike Tate (Mental Health & Wellbeing lead) 

All of our safeguarding policies can be viewed on the school policies section of the website.

Other pages

Cavendish Road,
West Didsbury,
Manchester M20 1JG
Mrs Taylor: Headteacher
Miss Evans: Deputy Headteacher & Designated Safeguarding Lead
Mrs Hookes: Inclusion lead & SENDCO for years 1-4
Mrs Carroll: Inclusion lead & SENDCO for years 5-6
All available via the school email & telephone number